Only One Ticket Vying For UPUA Presidency

The University Park Undergraduate Association announced the names of the candidates running for the 13th assembly Friday, including just one executive ticket of UPUA veterans Cody Heaton (President) and Laura McKinney (Vice President). Though the candidates have officially been announced, no ticket (executive or otherwise) is able to begin campaigning until the Monday after Spring Break (March 12).

Elections for the 12th Assembly will take place on Wednesday, March 28, but there will be plenty of opportunities to meet the candidates before then. For now, here’s a look at who’s running and a little more information about the executive tickets.

Cody Heaton & Laura McKinney

The only executive ticket running for office this year is Cody Heaton and Laura McKinney. Heaton is currently a junior and the chair of UPUA’s Facilities Committee, while McKinney is currently a sophomore and is the academic representative for the Bellisario College of Communications.

There are also 32 students running for the 20 available At-Large seats, compared to 33 who ran for the 20 seats last year. Additionally, there is one seat available for each academic college, though most colleges only have one student running.

At-Large Representatives

Academic Representatives

Agricultural Science

Olivia Richart
Zach Robinson

Arts and Architecture

Zachary McKay


Alexis Burke

Division of Undergraduate Studies

Adeline Mishler

Earth & Mineral Sciences

Peter Rinehart

Eberly College of Science

Diego Santos


Jake Springer


Ben Cutler

Information Science and Technology 

Chelsey Woods

Liberal Arts

Marvin Barnhill
Hannah Magoveney
Helia Hosseinpour

Schreyer Honors College

David Weiss

Smeal College of Business

Thomas Sarabok


George Samuel

Health and Human Development

Rafay Nasir

This post has been updated to include three additional candidates who were not originally verified by the Elections Commission due to technical difficulties with its new electronic system.