Zain Retherford Wins Big Ten Wrestler Of The Year

The awards and honors may never stop piling up for Zain Retherford. Shortly after he won his third straight Big Ten title at 149 lbs., Retherford was honored by the conference’s coaches as the Big Ten Wrestler of the Year.

During his senior season, Retherford is 26-0 with a conference-best 16 falls and three technical falls. Retherford’s 2-0 win against Iowa’s Brandon Sorensen in the championship bout was just the second time a match of his was decided by a decision this season. Sorensen challenged Retherford to his only other decision win this season in their teams’ dual meet.

To date, Retherford is riding an 89-match winning streak that dates back to his true freshman season in 2014.

Retherford, the reigning Hodge Trophy winner, last won the award in 2016 as a sophomore. Teammate Jason Nolf earned the honor a year ago.