PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



What Numbers Should Penn State Retire Next?

John Cappelletti, the only Heisman winner in Penn State Football history, had his jersey number retired on Saturday. Penn State had always held out on retiring jerseys, but Cappelletti’s #22 opened the door for other numbers to be retired down the road. We made a list of other players who could be next to see their jersey framed and never worn again.

LaVar Arrington (#11): Made famous for the LaVar Leap, Arrington won the Bednarik and Butkus award during the 1999 season. He is regarded as one of the best Penn State linebackers in history and is a fan favorite for a generation of Nittany Lions fans.

Michael Robinson/Wally Triplett (#12): Wally Triplett became the first African-American player to start a game for Penn State back in 1945. If ever there’s a historic anecdote to be honored, it’s this one. Michael Robinson led the 2005 Nittany Lions to a 11-1 record and an Orange Bowl win, while also winning Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year. After a number of poor years for Penn State football, Robinson is credited for leading the resurgence of the program.

Paul Posluszny/Shane Conlan (#31): #31 is a number rich in Linebacker U history. Conlan had 274 tackles in his career, and was drafted #1 overall to the Buffalo Bills. Posluszny won the Butkus award and the Bednarik award (twice), and graduated as Penn State’s all-time leader in tackles. He currently plays for the Jacksonville Jaguars.

Lenny Moore/Michael Mauti (#42): Moore wore #42 from 1953-1955, and finished his career with 2380 rushing yards. Moore was called “probably the best player I’ve coached, all-around” by coach Joe Paterno. Of course, we all know Michael Mauti’s story. The team leader of the 2012 squad, Mauti, along with teammate Michael Zordich, and convinced players not to transfer when the NCAA allowed Penn State players free transfer. His leadership will be celebrated in Penn State circles for years to come.

Adam Taliaferro (#43): Taliaferro may not have the best statistics on this list, but he’s certainly one of the most deserving. Taliaferro was paralyzed from the neck down while making a tackle during the 2000 season, and was given only a 3% chance to walk again. He beat the odds, and led the team out of the tunnel the next season. He is currently a member of the Board of Trustees.

Steve Suhey (#62): Suhey, the 1948 team captain, is widely credited with the creation of the “We Are” chant. Prior to the 1948 Cotton Bowl, Penn State’s opponent Southern Methodist requested a meeting to protest Penn State bringing its two black players to the game. Suhey is reported to have said, “We are Penn State. There will be no meetings.” With that short statement, a legend was born.

What numbers do you think should be retired, if any? Let us know in the comments! 

About the Author

Alex Robinson

Alex Robinson was Onward State's Acting Managing Editor/Resident Old Man. He lived in Harrisburg almost his whole life, but he says he's from California -- where he was born -- because that's more fun. He loves cats and Chinese food, but only separately. He met both Ben Affleck and Kanye West within a half hour, so the three of them are basically best friends. If you want to hear his #scorching #hot #takes, you can follow him at @ARobinsonPSU or email him at [email protected]



Incoming Penn State Track & Field Athlete Kristian Marche Shot To Death In Philadelphia

The incident surrounding Marche’s death is “under investigation,” according to the Philadelphia police department.

Former Women’s Gymnastics Coach Files Lawsuit Against Penn State Over Handling Of Abuse Allegations

Men’s Soccer Trio, Reading United Win PDL Eastern Conference Title, Fall Short Of National Championship

Penn State Hockey’s Evan Barratt, Aarne Talvitie Participate In World Junior Summer Showcase

Ally McHugh Wins 400 Medley National Championship

Student Life

Nike Releases New Penn State Sneakers

This year’s sneaker is available to purchase online for $109.99.

Penn State Parking Office Runs Into Student Permit Purchase Issues

Girirajan Lab Seeks To Bridge The Gap Between Fly And Human Genomes

Plans Submitted For New KFC In State College

Developers have submitted preliminary land development plans to build a new KFC restaurant at 1780 S. Atherton St. in State College.

Join Onward State: Fall 2018 Application

Onward State is hiring for the fall semester and we’d love to have you join us.

Fall Move-In Traffic & Construction Changes

When 40,000 students need to move back to State College over the course of four days or so, things are bound to get crazy.

Be the first to know

  • Top posts and the best Penn State stories

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Assessing Penn State’s Front Seven Following Tuesday’s Medical Retirements

Penn State’s defensive line rotation will be shaken up following Ryan Buchholz’s medical retirement from football, while the coaching staff is letting the linebackers duel it out during camp.

Send this to a friend