The Governor’s Victory Bell: Penn State’s Lesser-Known Rivalry Trophy

Everyone knows the Land-Grant Trophy is the most beautiful trophy in all of college football, if not all of sports.

But, not many folks know that the Nittany Lions actually have a second trophy given out to the winner of another rivalry game. No, it’s not Ohio State, Michigan, or even Maryland. The other rivalry trophy is given to the winner of Penn State-Minnesota.

Introducing the Governor’s Victory Bell.

This big, beautiful, brass bell was smelted in 1993 to commemorate Penn State’s entrance to the Big Ten. The Nittany Lions’ September 4 matchup against Minnesota was their first-ever conference game and first meeting with the Golden Gophers. Penn State won 38-20.

According to Minnesota Athletics, the trophy was conceived by acting Pennsylvania governor Mark Singel and former Minnesota governor Arne Carlson. It features a bell with a retro Big Ten logo, a wooden frame, and both of the teams’ logos. That’s really it.

Following its seizing of the trophy in 2013, Minnesota accidentally dismantled it amid a raucous celebration. You’d hope the frame was reinforced after that because this gif makes it look like it’s made of plastic.

Penn State is 9-6 all-time in Governor’s Victory Bell Trophy games. But, the Golden Gophers are currently in possession of the prized bell thanks to their 2019 upset of the Nittany Lions.

Luckily, James Franklin will have a chance to bring the trophy back home to Happy Valley this Saturday when Minnesota comes to town for the White Out. The game kicks off at 7:30 p.m. on ABC.

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Ryan Parsons

Ryan is a redshirt senior majoring in business and journalism from "Philadelphia" and mostly writes about football nowadays. You can follow him on Twitter @rjparsons9 or say hi via email at [email protected].

Your Guide To Arts Fest 2024

From entertainment to parking restrictions, we compiled everything you need to know before Arts Fest 2024.

Let Erica Dambach Coach The USMNT: An Open Letter To US Soccer

Jurgen Klopp was never the answer. The 2015 College Cup champion, however, is.

Three Penn State Football Players Ranked In Top 100 Of College Football 25

Abdul Carter, KJ Winston, and Nick Singleton all made the cut.