PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



NCAA Creates Task Force to Spend $60 Million Fine

The NCAA appointed a 10-member task force yesterday to determine how to distribute the $60 million fine that Penn State is required to pay as a result of the NCAA sanctions. The funds will be distributed to child sexual abuse and victim treatment programs and charities., as Penn State makes yearly $12 million payments for the next five years.

Via a Penn State Live release, the task force will be responsible for:

  • Developing and recommending the philosophy by which the endowment earnings will be employed;
  • Defining the types of programs to benefit from the endowment;
  • Establishing criteria used to obtain grants from the endowment;
  • Developing investment and spending practices to sustain the endowment;
  • Determining the financial and legal structure for holding assets;
  • Identifying and recommending an independent third-party to administer and manage the endowment assets;
  • Establishing appropriate reporting and accountability to monitor the performance and uses of the assets.

“Since July, Penn State has received input from a variety of sources with respect to the structure and operation of the endowment, which we have passed along to the NCAA,” said Penn State President Rodney Erickson in the release. “The NCAA has determined that at least one-quarter of the annual disbursements from the endowment will be reserved for Pennsylvania organizations.

“However, recognizing that child sexual abuse is a national issue, the NCAA has determined that grants from the endowment will be available in other states as well. Penn State appreciates the commitments of the task force on this important endeavor that will help countless victims of child sexual abuse.”

Members of the task force include:

  • Craig Hillemeir, vice dean for clinical affairs in Penn State’s College of Medicine
  • Nan Crouter, dean of the College of Health and Human Development
  • Rita Hartung Cheng, chancellor of Southern Illinois University at Carbondale;
  • Brian Gallagher, president and chief executive officer of United Way Worldwide;
  • Jane Lowe, team director of Vulnerable Populations Portfolio, The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation;
  • Harris Pastides, president, University of South Carolina;
  • Bryan Samuels, commissioner of the Administration on Children, Youth and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services;
  • Pamela Shifman, director, Initiatives for Girls and Women, NoVo Foundation; and
  • Raymond Torres, vice president of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and executive director of Casey Family Services.

About the Author

Kevin Horne

Kevin Horne was the editor of Onward State from 2012-2014 and currently holds the position of Managing Editor Emeritus, which is a fake title he made up. He graduated from Penn State with degrees journalism and political science in 2014 and is currently seeking his J.D. at the Penn State Dickinson School of Law. A third generation Penn Stater from Williamsport, Pa., Kevin is also the president of the graduate student government. Email: [email protected]


More by Kevin

Hometown Brewery Releases Beer Honoring Evan Pugh

Penn State’s first president Evan Pugh was born in 1828 at Jordan Bank Farm, three miles south of the city center of Oxford, Pennsylvania, an hour west of Philadelphia in Chester County. One-hundred eighty-nine years later, an Oxford brewery is honoring one of the preeminent champions of “liberal and practical” higher education in the form of a delicious Porter.

Penn State Basketball Downs Colgate 72-59 In Front of Thanksgiving Eve Crowd

Why Honoring Paterno Still Matters


Big Ten Releases Men’s And Women’s Basketball Schedules

Penn State men’s basketball will kick off the Big Ten’s first-ever 20-game conference stretch with a pair of games in early December, while the Lady Lions have a slate featuring games against five NCAA Tournament teams at home.

Penn State Hockey Releases 2018-19 Roster

Penn State Women’s Soccer Sophomores Start Season Strong

Penn State Women’s Soccer Beats Duquesne 6-0

Shea Moyer Lifts Penn State Women’s Soccer Past West Virginia 1-0

Student Life

Staff Picks: Grabbing A Drink With A Prominent Penn Stater

If you had the chance to hear about Penn State from (or throw down at a State College bar for a night with) some of its most prominent figures, who would you want to grab a beer with?

Freshman 101: Helpful Links

Nominations Now Open For Gender-Neutral Homecoming Court

Plans Submitted For New KFC In State College

Developers have submitted preliminary land development plans to build a new KFC restaurant at 1780 S. Atherton St. in State College.

Mayor Don Hahn Plans To Veto Overnight Parking Restrictions In Highlands Neighborhood

Those in favor of the ordinance plan to consider overturning the veto at a special meeting next Monday.

Video Recovery, Alcohol Education The Focus As New Preliminary Hearing Begins For Former Beta Theta Pi Brothers

Seven former Beta Theta Pi brothers were back in court on Tuesday for another preliminary hearing  in the Penn State fraternity hazing case stemming from the 2017 death of pledge Timothy Piazza.

Be the first to know

  • Top posts and the best Penn State stories

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Staff Picks: Grabbing A Drink With A Prominent Penn Stater

If you had the chance to hear about Penn State from (or throw down at a State College bar for a night with) some of its most prominent figures, who would you want to grab a beer with?

Send this to a friend