Penn State news by
Penn State's student blog



Football Senior Class Wins Maxwell Spirit Award

The Penn State Nittany Lions football team was 0-2 and looking at a daunting conference schedule on the road ahead. They were looking to provide some sort of redemption for a university that needed this football team to succeed, and succeed they did. Largely thanks to a perseverant senior class, the Nittany Lions went on to finish 8-4, and for that they are being rewarded in numerous ways.

The Maxwell Football Club will hold their annual awards banquet in Atlantic City this coming March, and at the event they will be honoring and recognizing the Penn State Nittany Lions senior class for their spirit and leadership as was announced by the group on Monday.

“The senior leaders at Penn State demonstrated incredible commitment, character and effort during the past year, and what they accomplished on the field this fall is just astonishing”, said Maxwell Football Club President and former Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Ron Jaworski.

“With the difficult circumstances surrounding the program it would have been easy for many of these players to look for a different situation to finish their college careers. But they chose to stay and support their teammates, coaches and university. The spirit and courage demonstrated in their actions is worthy of recognition with the Thomas Brookshier Spirit Award. They are a very special group of young men.”

The Maxwell Football Club stated in a press release that they are honoring the senior class with the Thomas Brookshier Spirit Award for triumphing in the wake of crippling sanctions, transfers, and “the passing of the coach torch from the legendary Joe Paterno to Bill O’Brien,” adding that the team’s 8-4 record was a shocker to many in the world of college football.

This comes in addition to the announcement Monday that Matt McGloin was awarded the Burlsworth Trophy, given to the best walk-on player in college football each year. Head coach Bill O’Brien was previously named the Big Ten Coach of the Year and is a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award, given to the most outstanding coach in college football each season.

Penn State also won a number of Big Ten honors at individual position for standout play from Michael Mauti, Allen Robinson, and Deion Barnes, among others.

Who needs a bowl game when you have the best senior class, best head coach, and best season of any college football team in the nation?

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Zach Berger

Zach Berger is a reporter and Onward State's Managing Editor Emeritus. You can find him at the Phyrst more nights than not. If he had to pick a last meal, Zach would go for a medium-rare New York strip steak with a side of garlic mashed potatoes and a cold BrewDog Punk IPA. You can reach him via e-mail at [email protected] or on Twitter at @theZachBerger.

Change Is Constant: Rico Gore’s Senior Column

“Life moves fast. Live in the moment and don’t get hung up on the past.”

Your Guide To Voting On Primary Election Day 2024

Polls open at 7 a.m. and will close at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, April 23, for this year’s primary elections in Pennsylvania.

Penn State Wrestling’s Carter Starocci To Make Decision On Future ‘Soon’

“After thinking about it some more, I’m about 60/40 coming back now.”

Follow on Another Platform
Other posts by Zach

Penn Stater Named To Olympic Committee’s Centre for Safe Sport’s Inaugural Board

The Center for Safe Sport was recently created to tackle the issue of protecting America’s athletes. Penn State will be represented on the inaugural board by chief ethics and compliance officer Regis Becker.

A Valentine’s Day Trio Of Penn State Love Stories

Penn State To Celebrate 161st Birthday Next Week