PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



Bill O’Brien Named B1G Coach of the Year

The awards continue rolling in for Penn State Football a few days after the season finale.

Fresh off Jordan Hill and Sam Ficken winning weekly conference awards and several Nittany Lion players taking home end of the year accolades last night, head coach Bill O’Brien has been named Big Ten Coach of the Year by both the media and fellow coaches.

After his first season in Happy Valley, which concluded with an 8-4 record that exceeded most expectations, O’Brien received both the Hayes-Schembechler award (coaches vote) and the Dave McClain award (media vote).

“It’s obviously very humbling,” O’Brien said, praising his assistants and players during his first year.

Being the only coach in the conference with no head coaching experience at any level before the season, this is quite an honor for O’Brien who beat out some other accomplished coaches including two-time national champion Urban Meyer who led the Ohio State Buckeyes to an undefeated season.

A decent case can be made here for Meyer. He posted the better record and was victorious in Beaver Stadium, but this award often considers outside factors including surrounding distractions and challenges. Over the past eleven months, O’Brien conquered many on his path to this honor.

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Drew Balis

Drew is a senior marketing major. This fall, he will be covering Penn State Football for Onward State. He is a huge Philadelphia sports fan and loves THON and Domonic Brown.


Other posts by Drew

McGloin Named NFL Rookie of the Week

The former Penn State record setting quarterback took home Pepsi Rookie of the Week honors following his impressive first NFL start that resulted in a 28-23 win for the Oakland Raiders on the road against the Houston Texans.

Will Adrian Amos Play Some Snaps at Linebacker?

Willis and Carson Talk Differences Between Butler and Roof

Penn State Wrestling Crowns Three NCAA Champions

Jason Nolf, Bo Nickal, and Anthony Cassar all finished the NCAA Championships atop the podium for Penn State wrestling.

McKinney, Griggs Encourage Penn Staters To ‘Embrace Your Journey’ With UPUA Campaign

“Whatever I can do to help Penn State and give back, that’s the mission.”

Send this to a friend