PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



Barnes, Zwinak Named To Preseason Award Watch Lists

With college football in a bit of a dead period, fans are looking for news/reasons to be outraged any way they can get it. Such news/reason for outrage came yesterday, as the preseason Maxwell and Bednarik Award watch lists were released.

Running back Zach Zwinak (Maxwell Award) and defensive end Deion Barnes (Bednarik Award) have been named to the preseason lists. For those unaware, the Maxwell Award is given out annually to the best college football player in America, while the Bednarik Award is given out annually to college football’s best defensive player.

While these lists aren’t necessarily important — some players get named and have poor seasons, like Iowa’s James Vandenberg and USC’s Silas Redd last season — they are a nice barometer of who is expected to make a major impact in the coming season.

Of course, there are some things that would make Penn Staters raise their eyebrows, most notably the fact that Allen Robinson’s name doesn’t appear on Maxwell list. While players can be added to watch lists later in the season, as Drew Balis pointed out on Twitter, it is peculiar that the best wide receiver in the Big Ten wasn’t named. This could be a testament to the uncertainty of Penn State’s quarterback position going into 2013, but it is still a bit surprising nonetheless.

Penn State has had more Bednarik winners than any other school. Four Nittany Lions, most recently Dan Connor in 2007, have won the award. The Nittany Lions are tied with Notre Dame for the most Maxwell winners with seven, most recently Larry Johnson in 2002, who was the last non-quarterback to win the award before last year.

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

State College Links
Follow on Another Platform
Other posts by Bill

Mute Cities Is Not Your Average State College Band

The men of Mute Cities don’t want to be the usual, run-of-the-mill bar band. They have aspirations beyond State College, not wanting to be stuck in the trap of being a band that never gets out of Happy Valley.

Penn State is Awesome, Take Advantage of That: Bill DiFilippo’s Senior Column

Penn State Students Tailgate a Final

Carrie Underwood To Perform At Bryce Jordan Center February 10

Underwood is bringing her “The Denim & Rhinestones” tour to Happy Valley next spring.

Carrie Underwood To Perform At Bryce Jordan Center February 10

Underwood is bringing her “The Denim & Rhinestones” tour to Happy Valley next spring.

Jana Marie Foundation Takes Innovative Approach To Promote Mental Well-Being Of Young People

“Jana Marie Foundation harnesses the power of creative expression and dialogue to spark conversations, build connections, and promote mental well-being among young people and their communities.”

Freshmen Look Back On Their First Year At Penn State

Some of our freshman staffers sat down and reflected on their first year in Happy Valley.

Send this to a friend