PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



Vote Bill O’Brien For Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award

It’s time to start voting for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year again, an award that goes to the college football coach who best demonstrates “responsibility, integrity, sportsmanship, and excellence both on and off the field.”

The award, which is endorsed by the College Football Hall of Fame, is in its eighth year. The winner from each college football division chooses a charity to receive $50,000 and earns their school’s alumni association a $20,000 grant.

Fans vote to select the top 15 coaches before a scoring model based on the criteria mentioned above narrows that down to just ten. The winner is chosen based on 20 percent fan votes, 55 percent College Football Hall of Fame selection committee votes, and 25 percent national media votes.

O’Brien was among elite company last season when he was selected as a top 10 finalist for Division I football, joining a list that included Urban Meyer, Mark Richt, Nick Saban, and Kevin Sumlin, among others. Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly went on to win the award, but O’Brien did receive some personal accolades of his own after a historic Penn State football season.

It’s time for you to do your part and go vote for O’Brien to win this year’s Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award. You must like the Liberty Mutual Facebook page to cast a vote and you’re allowed one vote per day, so bookmark the page and help our coach win this prestigious award.

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Zach Berger

Zach Berger is a reporter and Onward State's Managing Editor Emeritus. You can find him at the Phyrst more nights than not. If he had to pick a last meal, Zach would go for a medium-rare New York strip steak with a side of garlic mashed potatoes and a cold BrewDog Punk IPA. You can reach him via e-mail at [email protected] or on Twitter at @theZachBerger.


Other posts by Zach

Penn Stater Named To Olympic Committee’s Centre for Safe Sport’s Inaugural Board

The Center for Safe Sport was recently created to tackle the issue of protecting America’s athletes. Penn State will be represented on the inaugural board by chief ethics and compliance officer Regis Becker.

A Valentine’s Day Trio Of Penn State Love Stories

Penn State To Celebrate 161st Birthday Next Week

Movin’ On Bans All Bottles, Bags From 2019 Festival

In an effort to maintain its standing as an alcohol and substance-free event, Movin’ On has banned all bottles and bags from festival grounds.

Your State Patty’s Daylong Attire Guide

If you waited until the last minute to plan your State Patty’s daylong outfit, we have your back.

Send this to a friend