Penn State news by
Penn State's student blog



2014 Homecoming Court Named

Your 2014 Homecoming Court was officially crowned yesterday during the annual “court crash” process. Ten students and ten faculty members, split evenly by gender, were surprised by visits from Homecoming members to their classroom or office to inform them of their status on the court.

The members of the Student Court are:

  • Tori Waldner
  • Kelechi Acholonu
  • Kenya Crawford
  • Marielena Balouris
  • Emily Zheng
  • Kevin Bunce
  • Ricky Kopecky
  • Ryan Henrici
  • Ben Kline
  • Anand Ganjam

The members of the University Court are:

  • John Waters
  • Joseph Selden
  • Geoff Halberstadt
  • Moses Davis
  • Vernon Carraway
  • Daquina Johnson
  • Cathleen Hunt
  • Lindsey Zapletal
  • Dina Liberatore
  • Erica Walsh

The 2014 court will participate in several events leading up to and including the Homecoming parade. A King and Queen will be announced at halftime of the Homecoming football game against Northwestern on September 27 following a student vote that week.

“Members of the court are well rounded, spirited Penn Staters who excel in academics, community service, campus involvement, and leadership,”  Royalty Director Paisley Muller explained in a release. “The Homecoming Courts are pristine representations of their category to inspire other students and faculty to get involved around campus.”

Best of luck to members of this year’s Court, and we look forward to meeting all of you in the coming weeks!

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Kevin Horne

Kevin Horne was the editor of Onward State from 2012-2014 and currently holds the position of Managing Editor Emeritus, which is a fake title he made up. He graduated from Penn State with degrees journalism and political science in 2014 and is currently seeking his J.D. at the Penn State Dickinson School of Law. A third generation Penn Stater from Williamsport, Pa., Kevin is also the president of the graduate student government. Email: [email protected]

News & Notes From James Franklin’s Opening Summer Press Conference

Franklin spoke to the media for a half hour on Thursday about upcoming summer workouts.

‘We Have Competition At Every Single Position’: Penn State Quarterback Question Still Unanswered

With the clock ticking down until the start of Penn State football’s season, James Franklin has yet to name his starting quarterback.

Give Us Someone To Root Against: An Open Letter To The Big Ten

“It’s a lack of honor, a misplacement of regard, and a shortcoming of courtesy.”

Follow on Another Platform
Other posts by Kevin

Hometown Brewery Releases Beer Honoring Evan Pugh

Penn State’s first president Evan Pugh was born in 1828 at Jordan Bank Farm, three miles south of the city center of Oxford, Pennsylvania, an hour west of Philadelphia in Chester County. One-hundred eighty-nine years later, an Oxford brewery is honoring one of the preeminent champions of “liberal and practical” higher education in the form of a delicious Porter.

Penn State Basketball Downs Colgate 72-59 In Front of Thanksgiving Eve Crowd

Why Honoring Paterno Still Matters