PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



Vote For Micha Hancock To Win The AAU Sullivan Award

Micha Hancock’s Penn State volleyball career is over, but she might not be done adding to her impressive award collection.

Hancock is a semifinalist for the 85th James E. Sullivan AAU Award, the colloquial Oscar of sports awards. Older than the Heisman, it’s been given every year since 1930 to honor the country’s outstanding amateur athlete. If it sounds familiar, that’s because it’s one of the countless honors John Urschel won last year during his postseason award tour. He’s not the only recent Penn Stater to bring home the award, as fellow volleyball graduate Megan Hodge won it after the 2010 season.

Hancock’s Penn State achievements are endless. Winner of two national championships, the three-time All-American capped her four years as setter with the AVCA National Player of the Year award after leading the country in aces and notched an ESPY Nomination for Female Athlete of the Year. She has some tough competition for the award, though — others in the 14-candidate class include Ohio State running back Ezekiel Elliot, Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota, and Duke center Jahlil Okafor. Many other famous athletes have won the award, including Peyton Manning and Shawn Johnson.

Make sure you vote for Hancock here.

About the Author

Tim Gilbert

Former Managing Editor of this site, now just makes lots of #content for it from the Phyrst’s Table 69. Senior from Philadelphia. First-generation Penn Stater. I might go to law school after this, but I might not, too. “For the Glory” is in my email signature because I’m a douche. [email protected] is my email if you want to tell me why I suck. Alternatively, you can call me out on Twitter @OlGilb.


More by Tim

Penn State’s New Academic Mark Is Just Awful

My brain is not able to understand how a team of people supposedly proficient in this industry gathered, looked at this new mark, and said, “Yes, this will do!”

Penn State Hoops To Host DePaul In Inaugural Gavitt Tipoff

James Franklin To Throw First Pitch At Yankee Stadium On April 28


Penn State Hockey Releases 2018-19 Roster

Brett Murray is no longer on the team after an uneventful tenure in Happy Valley that saw him score just one goal in 33 games.

Penn State Women’s Soccer Sophomores Start Season Strong

Penn State Women’s Soccer Beats Duquesne 6-0

Shea Moyer Lifts Penn State Women’s Soccer Past West Virginia 1-0

Penn State Women’s Soccer Poised For Strong 2018 Season

Student Life

Your Fall 2018 Sylly Week Playlist

Whether this is your first semester or last, welcome to Sylly Week.

While You Were Gone…

Involvement Fair Returns To HUB Lawn Syllabus Week

Plans Submitted For New KFC In State College

Developers have submitted preliminary land development plans to build a new KFC restaurant at 1780 S. Atherton St. in State College.

Join Onward State: Fall 2018 Application

Onward State is hiring for the fall semester and we’d love to have you join us.

While You Were Gone…

Here’s a roundup of what went on around Penn State during summer break.

Be the first to know

  • Top posts and the best Penn State stories

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

What Changed In State College While You Were Away

With another summer in the books, here are all the changes to State College that happened while you were gone.

Send this to a friend