Penn State news by
Penn State's student blog



Doherty, Smith Receive Big Ten Honors For Women’s Lacrosse

Recently crowned the inaugural Big Ten Tournament champions, women’s lacrosse was honored twice on Monday afternoon with all-conference recognition. Big Ten coaches unanimously selected head coach Missy Doherty and goalie Emi Smith as Big Ten Coach and Goaltender of the Year, respectively.

In her fifth season as Penn State’s head coach, Doherty has led the team to its fourth consecutive NCAA tournament. She is the first of nine coaches in program history to win a conference coach of the year honor. This is Doherty’s second coach of the year selection after she was named Colonial Athletic Association Coach of the Year in 2004 while at Towson.

Smith, a junior goalie hailing from Denver, Colorado, has started in net for the Lions since her freshman year. She started 17 of this season’s 18 games, proving a crucial instrument in Penn State’s 14-4 record. Smith ranked second in the Big Ten in save percentage with .458 and GAA with 9.18.

Penn State will take on Johns Hopkins in the first round of the NCAA tournament at Virginia on Friday at 4 p.m.

Photo: @PennStateWLAX/Twitter 

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Sara Civian

Sara Civian is one of Onward State's three ridiculously good looking managing editors, a hockey writer at heart, and an Oxford comma Stan. She's a senior majoring in journalism, minoring in history, and living at Bill Pickle's Tap Room. Her favorite pastimes are telling people she's from Boston, watching the Bruins, and meticulously dissecting the My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy album. She's seen Third Eye Blind live 14 times. If you really hate yourself, you can follow her at @SaraCivian or email her at [email protected]

NIL Collectives Lions Legacy Club & Success With Honor Announce Merger

“It was imperative for these two powerful collectives to join forces to provide a large breadth of NIL opportunities for student-athletes in all 31 of our sports programs to continue to push us forward.”

Dunkin’ To Open South Garner Street Location

An employee confirmed that the Dunkin’ at 200 W. College Ave. will continue normal operations alongside the new South Garner Street location.

Thirteen Nittany Lions To Compete At NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships

The 13 student-athletes traveling to this season’s championships mark the largest showing of Nittany Lions since 2017.

Follow on Another Platform
Other posts by Sara

Penn State Hockey Defenseman Vince Pedrie Signs With New York Rangers

Penn State hockey sophomore defenseman Vince Pedrie will forgo his last two years of college eligibility to sign with the New York Rangers. Pedrie announced his decision via Instagram (what a time to be alive, right?) Monday night.

[Column] Penn State Hockey Became Elite This Season And It’s Just The Beginning

Penn State Ruined College Hockey And It Could Hardly Care