Nassib Named A Finalist For The Bednarik Award

The Chuck Bednarik Award is presented annually to the best defensive collegiate football player, and Carl Nassib is on the list of this year’s finalists.

Nassib is up against two linebackers for the award: Reggie Ragland from the University of Alabama and Tyler Matakevich from Temple. The winner will be announced on Thursday, December 10 at 7 p.m. on ESPN.

Nassib currently leads the nation in sacks, forced fumbles and tackles for loss.

The defensive end’s historic final season is coming to a close, and he’ll leave Penn State with its single-season sack record. Earlier this month we broke down why he should be a serious Heisman candidate. It’s worth noting Nassib had no scholarship offers and walked on during his freshman year before earning a scholarship as a sophomore.

In addition to the Bednarik award, Nassib is currently a finalist for the Lombardi Award, the Nagurski Trophy, and the Burlsworth Trophy.

More Options to Share

About the Author


Facebook Comments BBUI

Other stories

Send this to a friend