PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



Four Nittany Lions Awarded Big Ten Honors By AP

The AP named its All-Big Ten team as well as handed out a slew of awards on Monday. Penn State was prominently featured following its comeback win against Wisconsin in the Big Ten Championship Game on Saturday.

James Franklin won AP Big Ten Coach of the Year following a season where the Nittany Lions won the Big Ten and earned a spot in the Rose Bowl for the first time since the 2008 season. In his third year, Franklin became the first Penn State head coach other than Joe Paterno to produce an 11-win season.

Saquon Barkley also earned the distinction of AP Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year. The sophomore running back led the Big Ten in rushing touchdowns and all-purpose yards. He was also awarded a spot on the AP All-Big Ten first team.

Trace McSorley and Tyler Davis earned spots on the AP All-Big Ten second team. The redshirt sophomore quarterback finished the season with a school-record 3,360 yards, which was also best in the Big Ten this year. The redshirt junior kicker hit 22 of 24 field goals for a Big Ten-best 91.7 success percentage.

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Steve Connelly

Steve Connelly is a senior majoring in PR and an editor for Onward State. He is a proud native of the state of New Jersey, and yes, he is literal trash. He is a soccer fan, nap enthusiast, and chicken tender connoisseur. He tries to be a photographer sometimes despite one of his photos inspiring the name of his future sports bar, the Blurry Zamboni. You can follow him on Twitter @slc2o (feel free to slide), email him at [email protected], or come say hi to him in his office, the Irving's basement.


Join Onward State: Spring 2019 Application

Want to be a part of the nation’s premier student-run media outlet? Want to have your words read or your pictures seen by hundreds of thousands of readers and social media followers?

Penn State Urges Legislators, Administration To End Government Shutdown

“As we work together to make the impact as least disruptive as possible to our students and employees, we strongly urge Congress and the president to end this impasse.”

Send this to a friend