Penn State Football Wins Second Consecutive Lambert Trophy

Penn State football won the Lambert Trophy for the second consecutive season after posting a stellar 11-2 record and winning the Fiesta Bowl over Washington in 2017.

This is the 31st time that the Nittany Lions have won the award, which is given to the best Eastern-based team in all of college football. None of the other recipients of the trophy have won it more than seven times. The trophy was first awarded in 1936 and it is presented annually by the Metropolitan New York Football Writers.

Head coach James Franklin, star quarterback Trace McSorley, and standout tailback Saquon Barkley are just three of the many who are largely responsible for winning this award. Mike Gesicki, DaeSean Hamilton, Jason Cabinda, Grant Haley, and Marcus Allen are some of the others who helped Penn State to an 11-2 record and Fiesta Bowl victory during the 2017 season.

The university will officially accept the award at the Eastern College Football Awards Banquet on February 22 at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, NJ.

More Options to Share

About the Author

Mikey Mandarino

Mikey is a sophomore journalism major and staff writer for Onward State from Bedminster, NJ. He loves to watch sports, but hockey has always been his favorite. Mikey is the first Penn Stater in his family and is an expert on the New Jersey Devils, chicken parm, and country music. If you're dying to see more hockey content on your timeline, you can follow Mikey on Twitter @mikey_mandarino. You can also send any questions, comments, and/or hate mail via email to [email protected]


Facebook Comments BBUI

Other stories

Send this to a friend