Six Penn State Football Offensive Players Earn All-Big Ten Postseason Honors

Six Penn State football offensive players have earned postseason All-Big Ten postseason honors, the conference announced Wednesday afternoon.

Wideout Jahan Dotson, unsurprisingly, was named first-team All-Big Ten, while offensive tackle Rasheed Walker slotted in on the third team. Sean Clifford, Juice Scruggs, Mike Miranda, and Brenton Strange were named honorable mentions, too.

Dotson built off his breakout 2020 season with a star-studded 2021 campaign. The Pennsylvania native posted career highs across the board with 91 receptions worth 1,182 yards and 13 touchdowns (12 receiving, one rushing). Despite finishing second in the Big Ten in all three of those major receiving categories, he was still beat out by Ohio State’s Chris Olave for the coaches’ pick for first-team honors.

The wideout set the program’s all-time single-game receiving yards with 242 in Penn State’s win over Maryland. He’s now tied for No. 2 all-time in Penn State’s history in career receiving touchdowns (25) and holds the second-place spot for single-season receiving touchdowns (12), all-time receptions (183), and all-time receiving yards (1,182).

Walker anchored a Penn State offensive line that struggled for much of the season. Despite the struggles from the unit as a whole, Walker did a solid job protecting Clifford’s blind side. The media voted Walker to the third team, while the coaches had him as an honorable mention.

Clifford produced a solid season while battling through injury for a good portion of it. The signal-caller threw for a career-high 2,912 yards and tossed 20 touchdowns. He completed 62.4% of his passes, and he threw just six interceptions.

Strange served as one of Clifford’s weapons this season. Penn State’s starting tight end totaled 19 catches for 226 yards and three touchdowns. Strange was selected as an honorable mention by the media.

Miranda and Scruggs round out the Nittany Lions’ All-Big Ten selections, as Scruggs received the honorable mention nod from both the media and coaches, while the media gave Miranda the honor.

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Gabe Angieri

After a four-year career with Onward State, Gabe is now a college graduate and off to the real world. He shockingly served as the blog’s managing editor during the 2022-23 school year and covered football for much of his Onward State tenure, including trips to the Outback Bowl and Rose Bowl. For any professional inquiries, please email Gabe at [email protected]. You can still see his bad sports takes on Twitter at @gabeangieri.

News & Notes From James Franklin’s Lift For Life Media Availability

From discussing the White Out to the wide receiver corps, here’s what we learned from Franklin’s latest press conference.

[Photo Story] Lift For Life 2024

Penn State football players took to Holuba Hall to raise money to fight rare diseases.

Penn State Names Corey Phelps Dean Of Smeal College Of Business

Phelps came from leading Oklahoma’s Michael F. Price College of Business.

Other posts by Gabe

My Way: Gabe Angieri’s Senior Column

“By taking a step-by-step journey through a Frank Sinatra classic, I’m going to tell the story about how I went through these past four years ‘My Way.'”

Penn State Hoops’ Jalen Pickett, Seth Lundy Earn NBA Combine Invites

Four-Star Offensive Tackle Garrett Sexton Commits To Penn State