Can Penn State opt out of the Rose Bowl?
But we found this Q&A with the Post-Gazette’s Ron Musselman interesting. Someone named Marc asked Ron if Penn State could opt out of the Rose Bowl to play in the Fiesta or Sugar Bowl.
Here’s Ron’s answer:
Marc, good question, but the answer is no. If Penn State and Oregon State win out, they will meet again in the Rose Bowl. It would be just the sixth rematch in the 95-year history of the game. The BCS has a rule where bowl games can change their matchups to avoid rematches, except when those teams have the automatic bid, such as Penn State would if it wins the Big Ten title and Oregon State captures the Pac-10. If Penn State loses Saturday, there is an outside shot the Nittany Lions could get an at-large bid to the Sugar Bowl, but a spot in the Capital One Bowl is more likely.
Your ad blocker is on.
Please choose an option below.
Purchase a Subscription!
About the Author
The Nittany Lions moved up one spot following their 20-7 victory over Rutgers in Piscataway, NJ.
Parsons made seven tackles and recorded a strip sack in the Nittany Lions’ victory over Rutgers on Saturday.
Send this to a friend