PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



Two Women’s Soccer Players on MAC Hermann Award Watch List

The domination of the Penn State Women’s Soccer team continues once again before the 2013 season has officially started — two players have been named to the watch list for the MAC Hermann Trophy, granted to the best collegiate soccer player every year.

Senior forward Maya Hayes and Junior defender Whitney Church were added to the official watch list on Tuesday afternoon, along with 29 other women and 34 men across the country. By the end of the season, the numbers are whittled to three-a-gender and the winners are named at the annual banquet in St. Louis.

Hayes, who was the 2nd leading scorer on the team in 2012, was named to the watch list twice before. She made it to the second round as a semi-finalist when she was a sophomore in 2011, and the final round as a finalist in 2012 alongside teammate Christine Nairn. Last year’s award went to Crystal Dunn of UNC, who also returns this year for her senior season.

Church was named to the All-Big Ten Freshman Team in 2011 and was named Big Ten Defender of the year in 2012. This is her first time on the watch list.

The last, and only, Penn State player to win the award was Christie Welsh in 2001, who ended her Penn State career with 82 goals (still a Big Ten record).

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Maddy Pryor

I'm a 2013 Penn State alum with a B. A. in Public Relations as well as minors in History and Communications Arts and Sciences. I am proudly from Neptune, NJ and talk about it at any opportunity possible. I love college basketball and am a big fan of Penn State Basketball, as well as their official student section, Nittany Nation. I'm a big supporter of Relay For Life of Penn State as well as THON and Coaches vs. Cancer.


Other posts by Maddy

Coach Herb Hand Visits THON for the First Time

After football coach Herb Hand posted a Vine of his first view of THON, we just had to know what his thoughts were.

If You THON It, You Should Put A Ring On It

Club Croquet Wins THON’s Got Talent 2014

Gov. Tom Wolf Signs ‘Tim’s Law’ Anti-Hazing Bill

Governor Tom Wolf officially enacted the Timothy J. Piazza Anti-Hazing Law, which will establish stronger penalties, new standards for enforcement and reporting, and a stratified system for assessing hazing offenses, Friday in Harrisburg.

Where To Take Your Parents To Eat (And Drink) This Weekend

State College has plenty of restaurants that always seem too far and too expensive — except when your parents are in town.

Send this to a friend