PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



2015 UPUA Candidates Announced, Includes Four Executive Tickets

The candidates for the Executive of UPUA’s 10th Assembly have officially been announced. According to an email from Head Elections Commissioner Meeten Doshi, five executive packets were checked out and four were returned to officially file for candidacy. The 2015 Presidential race will include three familiar pairs, while a fourth ticket includes two candidates new to UPUA.

Current UPUA Vice President Emily McDonald heads one presidential ticket and is joined by current At-Large Representative Terry Ford as the Vice Presidential candidate.

UPUA Anand Ganjam Emily McDonald

Shannon Rafferty, current At-Large Representative and Student Life Chair is also seeking the presidency, and will be running alongside Gokul Sundar, who currently serves as a Co-Director for UPUA’s Freshman Council and has served on the Assembly in the past.

College of Communications Representative Ryan Belz leads another presidential ticket into the election, and lists current At-Large Representative Zach Longstreth as his running mate. Belz has made waves for himself in UPUA since he first started, and is fairly well-known for his controversial career in student government.

Ryan Belz

The final executive ticket features Hamsa Fayed as the presidential candidate and Dylan Sundy as the potential vice president. Both are newcomers to UPUA.

Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 1.04.37 PM


Campaigning for the 2015 UPUA election will be in full-swing upon students’ return from Spring Break on March 16, and the election is set to take place on April 1. The ballot for the General Assembly elections has yet to be released, but this post will be updated when it is.


Update (2:00 p.m.): Doshi released the full list of candidates for positions as representatives in the UPUA General Assembly. The full list can be found below:

At-Large Representative (20 seats):

Abigail Baker

Shawn Bengali

Ryan Valencia

Divy Agnihotri

John Ott

Grant Worley

Asad Karamally

Steffen Blanco

Kyra Rogan

Katie Jordan

Adam Terragnoli

Brent Rice

Brook Novotnok

Steven Parr

Edka Wong

Matt Ikenberry

Darian Gist

Brad Stuby

Aya Bseiso

Hesham Fageeh

Lianne Luu

Matthew Cummings

Erensu Ozroy

Fatimah Nuri Al Ali

Anthony Mitchell

Academic Colleges (1 seat)

College of Agricultural Sciences

Bradley Garrett

College of Arts and Architecture

Andrew Ahr

Smeal College of Business

Madelin Fortin

College of Communications

No candidate

Division of Undergraduate Studies

Viki Park

College of Education

Emily Miller

College of Earth and Mineral Sciences

Christina Ricketts

Neil Baldasari

Brendan St. Thomas

College of Engineering

No candidate

College of Health and Human Development

No candidate

College of Information Science and Technology

No candidate

College of Liberal Arts

Michael Straw

Alexandra Levantis

Tristan Rivera

College of Nursing

No candidate

Schreyer Honors College

No candidate

Eberly College of Science

Samantha Geisinger

About the Author


Posts from the all-student staff of Onward State.



Former Cal Swimmer Says She Emailed Sandy Barbour About Sexual Harassment Claims

Longtime Cal athletics employee Mohamed Muqtar was accused by seven former Golden Bears student-athletes of sexual violence and harassment dating back 20 years prior to his firing on May 11. An internal investigation from the school substantiated those claims.

Max Sauve Commits To Penn State Hockey

Penn State Women’s Volleyball Releases 2018 Schedule

Penn State Hoops Alumnus Joonas Suotamo’s Journey To Becoming Chewbacca Featured On ESPN’s ‘E:60’

Evaluating Tony Carr’s Performance At The 2018 NBA Draft Combine

Student Life

Penn State Love Stories: A Chance Meeting On A Service Trip

When Abby Wilt went on a service trip to Nassau, Bahamas, she had no idea she’d meet the love of her life.

10 Questions With 2019 Class Gift Director Tom Beeby

Career Services To Launch Integrated Career Management & Recruiting Platform

Plans Submitted For New KFC In State College

Developers have submitted preliminary land development plans to build a new KFC restaurant at 1780 S. Atherton St. in State College.

State Theatre Recognized As A State College Historic Site

As it approaches the 80th anniversary of its opening, the State Theatre has been recognized as a State College historic site.

Penn State Love Stories: A Chance Meeting On A Service Trip

When Abby Wilt went on a service trip to Nassau, Bahamas, she had no idea she’d meet the love of her life.

Be the first to know

  • Top posts and the best Penn State stories

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

10 Questions With 2019 Class Gift Director Tom Beeby

Tom Beeby will serve as the 2019 Class Gift Executive Director.

Send this to a friend