Penn State news by
Penn State's student blog



Homecoming Announces 2017 Courts With Annual ‘Court Crash’

Homecoming announced its 2017 student, university, and alumni courts with its annual “Court Crash” throughout the day Monday. The organization also named its first-ever graduate student court, surprising members of all four courts in their HUB offices, at the Waffle Shop, and at work.

“Homecoming selects Court members who truly embody the Penn State spirit,” Homecoming Royalty Director Anuja Jonnalagadda said. “We select representatives that give back to the community and really strive to be their best selves and positively influence others.”

This year’s student court includes:

  • Cayla Castells
  • Megan McCloskey
  • Kosar Abolhassani
  • Katie Jordan
  • Hannah Pholmann
  • Aaron Blakney
  • Ryan Lennon
  • Alex Shockley
  • Jorge Zurita-Coronado
  • Jon Muth


Students also have the opportunity to recognize faculty members by nominating them for Homecoming’s University Court, which is selected by a panel of student leaders. This year’s university court includes:

  • Cathy Hunt (senior chemistry lecturer)
  • Laura Pauley (mechanical engineering professor)
  • Megan Abplanap (College of Earth and Mineral Sciences academic advisor and recruiter)
  • Jadrian Wooten (economics lecturer)
  • Joseph Houck (chemistry lecturer)


Past alumni courts have been comprised solely of former student court members, but this year’s alumni court was open to all Penn State alumni. This year’s alumni court includes:

  • Beth Napolitano
  • Aubrey Sejuit
  • Jason Whitney
  • Kevin Horne


Homecoming has never named a graduate student court before, but decided this year to select two graduate students for a court in collaboration with the Graduate and Professional Student Association (GPSA). The first-ever graduate student court includes:

  • Charles Gibson
  • Katie Bateman

Court members will be featured in the Homecoming parade on Friday, November 10 and recognized during the Homecoming football game against Rutgers on Saturday, November 11.

All Penn State students can vote for student court winners online starting later this month through Homecoming week until 5 p.m. Thursday, November 9. The student court king and queen will be crowned during the football game.

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Elissa Hill

Elissa was the managing editor of Onward State from 2017-2019. She is from Punxsutawney, PA [insert corny Bill Murray joke here] and considers herself an expert on all things ice cream. Follow her on Twitter (@ElissaKHill) for more corny jokes.

Kaden Saunders Emerging As Versatile Asset For Penn State Football

The redshirt freshman has seen increased reps at wide receiver and punt returner this season.

El Jefe’s Taqueria Raises Over $31K During THON Fundraiser

Over 2,400 customers headed to El Jefe’s Tuesday as part of its 20-hour THON fundraiser.

‘Team Chemistry Is At 100’: Penn State Men’s Soccer Locked In After Big Ten Opener

Coming off another conference win, the Nittany Lions emphasized the importance of having each other’s backs in the midst of the Big Ten slate.

Follow on Another Platform
Other posts by Elissa

2020 Blue-White Game To Kick Off April 18

More details will be announced following the 2019 season, but the game is usually scheduled for a mid-afternoon kickoff and aired live on BTN.

Penn State Football Announces First Five Kickoff Times For 2019 Season

Behring, Barlow, Engeman, & Marshall Secure Democratic Nominations For State College Borough Council