Penn State news by
Penn State's student blog



Lafer, Murphy, Myers Elected To State College Borough Council

Democrats Theresa Lafer and Evan Myers and cross-filed Democrat/Republican Dan Murphy won today’s election to serve on the State College Borough Council.

Lafer pulled 23.66% of the vote, Myers pulled 29.80% of the vote, and Murphy pulled 27.23% of the vote.

Myers and Murphy were each endorsed by the BugPAC campaign to “reclaim State College” which launched earlier this year as the brainchild of now-former student government presidents Kevin Horne and Terry Ford. The organization has since been passed on to the hands of UPUA Vice President Alex Shockley and UPUA Chief of Staff Jen Heckman.

Lafer has been a councilwoman for more than seven years, but has been on the opposite side of the town/gown battle, mostly favoring the interests of long-term residents ahead of the students.

All three were elected to serve four-year terms on council. They defeated Republican candidates Lynn Herman (8.63%) and Richard Fitzgerald (7.88%).

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Elissa Hill

Elissa was the managing editor of Onward State from 2017-2019. She is from Punxsutawney, PA [insert corny Bill Murray joke here] and considers herself an expert on all things ice cream. Follow her on Twitter (@ElissaKHill) for more corny jokes.

[Photo Story] Penn State vs. Iowa

A sea of white filled Beaver Stadium for the 15th full-stadium White Out.

Class Of 2025 Star PJ Duke Commits To Penn State Wrestling

Duke is the youngest wrestler to ever win a New York state championship.

Class Of 2025 Four-Star Running Back Tiqwai Hayes Commits To Penn State Football

Hayes is the second running back to commit to the Nittany Lions’ recruiting Class of 2025.

Follow on Another Platform
Other posts by Elissa

2020 Blue-White Game To Kick Off April 18

More details will be announced following the 2019 season, but the game is usually scheduled for a mid-afternoon kickoff and aired live on BTN.

Penn State Football Announces First Five Kickoff Times For 2019 Season

Behring, Barlow, Engeman, & Marshall Secure Democratic Nominations For State College Borough Council