PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



Only One Ticket Vying For UPUA Presidency

The University Park Undergraduate Association announced the names of the candidates running for the 13th assembly Friday, including just one executive ticket of UPUA veterans Cody Heaton (President) and Laura McKinney (Vice President). Though the candidates have officially been announced, no ticket (executive or otherwise) is able to begin campaigning until the Monday after Spring Break (March 12).

Elections for the 12th Assembly will take place on Wednesday, March 28, but there will be plenty of opportunities to meet the candidates before then. For now, here’s a look at who’s running and a little more information about the executive tickets.

Cody Heaton & Laura McKinney

The only executive ticket running for office this year is Cody Heaton and Laura McKinney. Heaton is currently a junior and the chair of UPUA’s Facilities Committee, while McKinney is currently a sophomore and is the academic representative for the Bellisario College of Communications.

There are also 32 students running for the 20 available At-Large seats, compared to 33 who ran for the 20 seats last year. Additionally, there is one seat available for each academic college, though most colleges only have one student running.

At-Large Representatives

  • Anthony Guzzo
  • Jake Griggs
  • Daniel Vargas
  • Tyler Ladzinski
  • Percy Mottley
  • Cristina Cebotaru
  • Marlowe Galbraith
  • Bhavin Shah
  • Madisyn Lloyd
  • Courtney Hummel
  • Neil Cornejo
  • Frank Geltrude
  • Monica Ogrodnik
  • Morgan Sloan
  • Rubi Manzo Garcia
  • Troi Pryor
  • Tyler Akers
  • Beryl Bannerman
  • Quinn O’Neill
  • Nicorie Clarke
  • Jordan Brooks
  • Andrew Keane
  • Brighton Mills
  • Fernando Coplin
  • Seun Babalola
  • Gabe Toribio
  • Jacob Klipstein
  • Tom Dougherty
  • Derek Menges
  • Donghe Liu
  • Emma Davies
  • Mariana Garcia

Academic Representatives

Agricultural Science

Olivia Richart
Zach Robinson

Arts and Architecture

Zachary McKay


Alexis Burke

Division of Undergraduate Studies

Adeline Mishler

Earth & Mineral Sciences

Peter Rinehart

Eberly College of Science

Diego Santos


Jake Springer


Ben Cutler

Information Science and Technology 

Chelsey Woods

Liberal Arts

Marvin Barnhill
Hannah Magoveney
Helia Hosseinpour

Schreyer Honors College

David Weiss

Smeal College of Business

Thomas Sarabok


George Samuel

Health and Human Development

Rafay Nasir

This post has been updated to include three additional candidates who were not originally verified by the Elections Commission due to technical difficulties with its new electronic system.

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Elissa Hill

Elissa is a senior public relations major and the managing editor of Onward State. She is from Punxsutawney, PA [insert corny Bill Murray joke here] and considers herself an expert on all things ice cream. Send questions and comments via e-mail ([email protected]) and follow her on Twitter (@ElissaKHill) for more corny jokes.


Other posts by Elissa

Gender-Neutral Homecoming Court Includes Only Two Male Members

Two of these students will be honored with the first annual “Guide State Forward” Award, rather than naming a Homecoming king and queen.

UPUA Tensions Persist Over Ad Hoc Committee To Add Caucus Seats

Athletics Warns Fans Of Counterfeit Tickets For Ohio State Game

[Photo Story] Jax Bar & Kitchen Ready For Business

Jax Bar & Kitchen is the newest addition to the State College drinking scene.

The Official Penn State-Illinois Drinking Game

Let’s make this game a little bit more interesting with the official Penn State-Illinois drinking game!

Send this to a friend