PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



Zain Retherford Wins Big Ten Wrestler Of The Year

The awards and honors may never stop piling up for Zain Retherford. Shortly after he won his third straight Big Ten title at 149 lbs., Retherford was honored by the conference’s coaches as the Big Ten Wrestler of the Year.

During his senior season, Retherford is 26-0 with a conference-best 16 falls and three technical falls. Retherford’s 2-0 win against Iowa’s Brandon Sorensen in the championship bout was just the second time a match of his was decided by a decision this season. Sorensen challenged Retherford to his only other decision win this season in their teams’ dual meet.

To date, Retherford is riding an 89-match winning streak that dates back to his true freshman season in 2014.

Retherford, the reigning Hodge Trophy winner, last won the award in 2016 as a sophomore. Teammate Jason Nolf earned the honor a year ago.

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Anthony Colucci

Anthony Colucci is Onward State’s news editor, a preferred walk-on honors student, and a junior majoring in psychology and public relations. Despite being from the make-believe land of Central Jersey, he was never a Rutgers fan. If you ever want to know how good Saquon Barkley's ball security is, ask Anthony what happened when he tried to force a fumble at the Mifflin Streak. If you want to hear the story or are bored and want to share prequel memes, follow @_anthonycolucci on Twitter or email him at [email protected] All other requests and complaints should be directed to Onward State media contact Steve Connelly.


Other posts by Anthony

Sheck Wes To Perform At Champs After Travis Scott Concert

We asked it when Sheck Wes was announced as the opener for Travis Scott’s concert at the Bryce Jordan Center, and we’ll ask it again: Is there anything better than the sound of “Mo Bamba” in Happy Valley?

Movin’ On Bans All Bottles, Bags From 2019 Festival

From Blond Back To Blue: Penn State Wrestling’s Bo Nickal Does Another Super Saiyan Power-Up

Trustees Committee Approves Sandy Barbour Contract Through 2023

Sandy Barbour will make an average of $1,269,000 per year as part of the new deal, which runs through August 2023.

Your THON 2019 Master Playlist

With more than 500 songs and a run-time of more than 30 hours, this playlist will make it seem like THON never ended.

Send this to a friend