Jahan Dotson Named Penn State Football’s 2021 Team MVP

The State College Quarterback Club held its annual banquet Sunday afternoon to honor Penn State football’s 2021 squad.

The team handed out a plethora of awards to recognize some of the standouts on James Franklin’s crew. Star wideout Jahan Dotson took home overall Most Valuable Player as well as offensive MVP honors. Dotson totaled 91 receptions worth 1,182 yards and 13 touchdowns (12 receiving, one rushing) en route to earning first-team All-Big Ten honors.

On the other side of the ball, Jaquan Brisker won defensive MVP thanks to his stellar season. The safety posted 63 tackles, six for a loss, five passes defended, and two interceptions. Additionally, Brisker was one of six recipients of the Captain’s Award.

Days after we learned he’ll be back in Happy Valley for one more season, Sean Clifford received the Outstanding Senior Player Award for his career contribution to Penn State football. The three-year starter has amassed 7,644 passing yards and 71 touchdowns (61 passing, 10 rushing) during his career as a Nittany Lion.

The full list of awards is below:

  • Lions’ Pride Outstanding Senior Player Award (greatest career contribution to Penn State football) — QB Sean Clifford
  • Most Valuable Player — WR Jahan Dotson
  • Most Valuable Offensive Player — WR Jahan Dotson
  • Most Valuable Defensive Player — S Jaquan Brisker
  • Captain’s Award — QB Sean Clifford, OL Rasheed Walker, S Jaquan Brisker, DT PJ Mustipher, P/K Jordan Stout, and S Jonathan Sutherland
  • Ridge Riley Award (senior for “sportsmanship, scholarship, leadership, and friendship”) — DT PJ Mustipher
  • Dick Maginnis Memorial Award (outstanding offensive lineman) — OL Juice Scruggs
  • Bob Mitinger Memorial Award (senior who exhibits courage, character, and social responsibility) — DE/LB Jesse Luketa and OL Eric Wilson
  • Reid-Robinson Award (outstanding defensive lineman). Named in honor of two of Penn State’s most acclaimed defensive linemen, Dave Robinson and Mike Reid — DE Arnold Ebiketie
  • John Bruno Memorial Award (outstanding member of special teams) – P/K Jordan Stout
  • Tim Shaw Thrive Award (awarded to the student-athlete who has overcome adversities and been an inspiration to his fellow teammates) — RB Noah Cain and DE Nick Tarburton
  • Iron Lion Award (strength and conditioning). Awarded to the player who demonstrates the cornerstone of the Penn State football strength and conditioning program — intensity and consistency — DE Arnold Ebiketie
  • Outstanding Run-on Award (Run-on player who exemplifies total commitment, loyalty, hard work, and courage) — S Sebastian Costantini and WR Justin Weller
  • Quarterback Club Special Awards — CB Tariq Castro-Fields, K Rafael Checa, LB Max Chizmar, WR Winston Eubanks, WR Henry Fessler, DT Fred Hansard, S Drew Hartlaub, K Vlad Hilling, P/K Bradley King, OL Will Knutsson, OL Kaleb Konigus, OL Mike Miranda, WR Cam Sullivan-Brown, OL Anthony Whigan, and WR Ben Wilson.
  • The Nittany Lion Club Academic Achievement Award (senior with highest GPA) – WR Justin Weller
  • Highest Academic Average — LS Michael Wright
  • Public Service Award — QB Sean Clifford
  • Scout Team Special Teams Player of the Year — S Kaleb Brown
  • Scout Team Defensive Player of the Year — S Jaden Seider, LB Dominic DeLuca, and DL Jordan van den Berg
  • Scout Team Offensive Player of the Year — QB Mason Stahl and TE Dan Vasey
  • Keystone Award (recognizes an individual considered to be the foundation of the program) – DE/LB Jesse Luketa and DT Derrick Tangelo
  • Alumni Athlete Award — Jordan Hill

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Gabe Angieri

After a four-year career with Onward State, Gabe is now a college graduate and off to the real world. He shockingly served as the blog’s managing editor during the 2022-23 school year and covered football for much of his Onward State tenure, including trips to the Outback Bowl and Rose Bowl. For any professional inquiries, please email Gabe at [email protected]. You can still see his bad sports takes on Twitter at @gabeangieri.

Lady Lions Announce 2023-24 Roster

Penn State women’s basketball brought in nine additions to its roster.

Penn State Baseball Earns Three Spots On ABCA All-Region Teams

Adam Cecere and JT Marr were named to the first team, while Travis Luensmann was named to the second team.

Former Penn State Football Commit Jaelyne Matthews Commits to Rutgers

Matthews was Penn State football’s first commit for the class of 2025 before reopening his recruitment in September.

Other posts by Gabe

My Way: Gabe Angieri’s Senior Column

“By taking a step-by-step journey through a Frank Sinatra classic, I’m going to tell the story about how I went through these past four years ‘My Way.'”

Penn State Hoops’ Jalen Pickett, Seth Lundy Earn NBA Combine Invites

Four-Star Offensive Tackle Garrett Sexton Commits To Penn State