PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



Kerry Collins Elected To College Football Hall Of Fame

Former Penn State quarterback Kerry Collins was one of 13 players and coaches selected to the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Monday morning in Atlanta before this evening’s College Football Playoff Championship game. Collins is the 25th Penn State player/coach to be enshrined in the Hall of Fame.

While at Penn State, Collin threw for 5,304 yards and 39 touchdowns. He led the Big Ten in passing touchdowns, passing yards, and total yards in 1994, when he led Penn State to an undefeated season, Rose Bowl win, and No. 2 final ranking. That season, he won the conference Offensive Player of the Year, Davey O’Brien Award, and Maxwell Award.

The Carolina Panthers selected Collins fifth overall in the 1995 NFL Draft. He played in the NFL for 17 seasons and brought the New York Giants to Super Bowl XXV in 2000.

Collins will be officially inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame December 4, alongside former Michigan standout  and Heisman winner Charles Woodson, former Miami defensive back Ed Reed, former Georgia Tech receiver Calvin Johnson, and legendary Texas coach Mack Brown.

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Anthony Colucci

Anthony Colucci is Onward State’s Social Media Manager, a preferred walk-on honors student, and a junior majoring in psychology and public relations. Despite being from the make-believe land of Central Jersey, he was never a Rutgers fan. If you ever want to know how good Saquon Barkley's ball security is, ask Anthony what happened when he tried to force a fumble at the Mifflin Streak. Feel free to follow @_anthonycolucci on Twitter and email him at [email protected] to hear the story or if you’re bored and want to chat.


College GameDay To Return To Happy Valley For White Out Game

College GameDay is coming back to our city for the Nittany Lions’ White Out clash with Ohio State.

Penn State’s New Faces Take Another Step Forward Against Illinois

Penn State continued to rotate heavily on both sides of the ball in its 63-24 win over the Illini Friday night.

Send this to a friend