Brandon Short, Matt McGloin, & Carl Nassib Elected Alumni Trustees

Brandon Short, Matt McGloin, and Carl Nassib were elected to Penn State’s Board of Trustees as alumni trustees on Friday, May 3. They’ll begin their three-year terms on July 1.

Short, McGloin, and Nassib received 17,083, 15,064, and 13,274 votes, respectively, from fellow alumni and bested other candidates Alvin de Levie and Steven Wagman. Wagman was appointed to a one-year term on the Board of Directors for Penn State Health.

A former Penn State and NFL football player, Short was elected to his third term on the board. A fierce defender of Joe Paternoeven against Paterno’s family — Short played for the former head coach from 1997-1999. He was an All-American for Penn State and spent six years in the NFL, serving as an NFLPA representative for the Carolina Panthers during that time. Short ran alongside Wagman and Nassib.

Another former Penn State football player, walk-on quarterback Matt McGloin was elected to his first term as a trustee. McGloin played for Paterno from 2009-12, serving as the team’s starting quarterback and captain during many of those years, and spent seven years in the NFL. He currently serves as the commissioner for Lackawanna County, among several other leadership positions in the court. McGloin ran alongside de Levie.

Nassib was another walk-on for Penn State football, playing for the Nittany Lions as a defensive end from 2011-15 and winning the Hendricks and Lombardi awards as well as earning All-American recognition. He continued to have an eight-year career in the NFL, retiring in 2023. In 2021, he became the first active NFL player to opening come out as gay. As a former NCAA athlete, Nassib has advocated for improving the quality of NIL benefits for Penn Staters. Nassib was elected to his first term and ran alongside Short and Wagman.

Additionally, Mary Lee Schneider and Robert E. Fenza were elected as trustees representing business and industry. Julia Anna Potts was elected as an at-large trustee. Donald Cairns and Chris Hoffman were elected as trustees by agricultural delegates. Nicholas Rowland was named an academic trustee.

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Joe Lister

Joe is a junior journalism major at Penn State and an associate editor at Onward State. He covers Penn State football and enjoys yelling on Twitter about Philadelphia/Penn State sports. He also listens to Mac Miller more than you. If you want to find him, Joe's usually watching soccer with his shirt off or at the gym with his shirt on. Please send all positive affirmations and/or hate mail toward him on Twitter (iamjoelister) or via email ([email protected]).

Smile On My Face: Anna Wiggins’ Senior Column

“I’ve thought long and hard about what advice I may wish to pass on and realized that I don’t have anything remarkable or profound to say.”

Freshëns Fresh Food Kitchen To Open In EcoRE Building In Fall 2024

The restaurant will be located inside the Engineering Collaborative Research and Education Building.

No. 9 Penn State Men’s Lacrosse Controls No. 7 Maryland 19-9, Moves On To Big Ten Tournament Championship

Penn State last won the Big Ten Tournament in 2019.