Carson, Carter, Urschel Named To Preseason Award Watch Lists

College football is in the middle of its watch list season, and three Nittany Lions have found their way on to various preseason lists that mean absolutely nothing.

Glenn Carson, Kyle Carter, and John Urschel have been named to the Butkus, Mackey, and Lombardi Award watch lists, respectively. The trio joins teammates Deion Barnes and Zach Zwinak as members of the Nittany Lions to be put on preseason lists so far.

Carson is up for the Butkus Award, which is given out annually to the best linebacker in college football. Two Nittany Lions — LaVar Arrington in 1999 and Paul Posluszny in 2005 — have won the award in the past, making Penn State one of seven schools to have multiple winners. Carson, who is viewed by some as the best player on the Nittany Lions this year, had 85 tackles last year, the most of any returning player.

Carter is up for the Mackey Award, which is given annually to college football’s best tight end. No Nittany Lions have ever won this award, but Carter certainly has a very good chance, as the presumed favorite for this award, 2012 Mackey Award finalist Austin Seferian-Jenkins of Washington, is suspended indefinitely due to a DUI. With a wide open field and all the talent in the world, there is no reason why Carter can’t end up in the conversation for this award.

Lastly, professor John Urschel is up for the Rotary Lombardi Award, which is given annually to college football’s best lineman or linebacker. One Nittany Lion has won this award before: defensive lineman Bruce Clark in 1978. Urschel has a bit of an uphill battle for this award, as no offensive lineman has won it since Ohio State’s Orlando Pace won it twice in 1995 and 1996.

More Options to Share

About the Author


Facebook Comments BBUI

Other stories

Send this to a friend