PSU news by
Penn State's student blog



Ten Penn Staters Elected To Alumni Council Amid Shockingly Low Voter Turnout

The Penn State Alumni Association elected ten Penn State alumni to serve three-year terms on its Alumni Council, the governing board of the Alumni Association itself. The Alumni Council advises the Alumni Association on programs and initiatives to fulfill its mission.

All alumni members of the Alumni Association are eligible to vote in the online election. Of the 139,273 alumni eligible to vote, 7,865 individuals (or 5.64 percent) voted in this year’s election. Shockingly, this is an even lower voter turnout than the controversial 2016 election, which clocked in at 7.36 percent. You can see the full 2017 voting results here.

Controversy has riddled the Alumni Council election in recent years, leading to the Alumni Association establishing a nominating committee in 2016 to vet candidates — a process that has been criticized for preventing many of the more vocal alumni (especially those involved with the PS4RS interest group or who have publicly criticized the Alumni Association) from appearing on the ballot.

Those elected to the Alumni Council will serve from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2020. The following ten individuals were elected, with biographical information provided by the Alumni Association:

  1. Thomas Ulmer ’96 Lib, Wellsboro, Pennsylvania; Ulmer is executive assistant for the deputy under secretary of the Navy for Policy for the U.S. Navy.
  2. Tracey Baker ’93 H&HD, Philadelphia; Baker is an information technology specialist for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services/Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
  3. Kristen McMullen ’89 H&HD, Charleston, South Carolina; McMullen is director of the Student Success Center at College of Charleston, School of Business.
  4. Melissa Schipke ’09 Bus, ’09 Com, Haddon Township, New Jersey; Schipke is founder and CEO of Tassl.
  5. Trisha Fehlinger Mikita ’00 EMS, State College, Pennsylvania; Mikita is vice president of Digital Media Strategy for AccuWeather.
  6. Heather Wolfe ’14 H&HD, Oxford, Pennsylvania; Wolfe is an assistant athletic trainer at Lincoln University, for NovaCare Rehabilitation.
  7. Shawn Manderson ’03 IST, Philadelphia; Manderson is director of Global SOCR Compliance Program for ADP, Inc.
  8. Michael Catino, P.E. ’70 Eng, Shamokin, Pennsylvania; Catino is president of Catino Associates, Inc.
  9. Jay Weitzel Jr. ’74 Lib, Springfield, Virginia; Weitzel is division counsel and corporate director for Northrop Grumman Corporation.
  10. John Hook ’82 DUS, State College, Pennsylvania; Hook is president of The Hook Group.

Four candidates endorsed by the PSAAForAll interest group were elected in 2016, down from the nine positions the group secured in the 2015 election. This year, the group did not specifically endorse candidates, but instead reached out to each candidate published a voting guide on their website, shown below.

About the Author

Elissa Hill

Elissa is a senior public relations major and the managing editor of Onward State. She is from Punxsutawney, PA [insert corny Bill Murray joke here] and considers herself an expert on all things ice cream. Send questions and comments via e-mail ([email protected]) and follow her on Twitter (@ElissaKHill) for more corny jokes.


More by Elissa

Trans-Siberian Orchestra Bringing Winter Tour To Bryce Jordan Center

The band is known for its elaborate concerts, which often include a string section, a light show, lasers, pyrotechnics, moving trusses, video screens, and effects synchronized to the music. Yes, really.

‘Daily Show’ Host Trevor Noah To Perform At BJC

Lisa Salters To Serve As 2018 Homecoming Grand Marshal


Penn State Hockey Releases 2018-19 Roster

Brett Murray is no longer on the team after an uneventful tenure in Happy Valley that saw him score just one goal in 33 games.

Penn State Women’s Soccer Sophomores Start Season Strong

Penn State Women’s Soccer Beats Duquesne 6-0

Shea Moyer Lifts Penn State Women’s Soccer Past West Virginia 1-0

Penn State Women’s Soccer Poised For Strong 2018 Season

Student Life

Your Fall 2018 Sylly Week Playlist

Whether this is your first semester or last, welcome to Sylly Week.

While You Were Gone…

Involvement Fair Returns To HUB Lawn Syllabus Week

Plans Submitted For New KFC In State College

Developers have submitted preliminary land development plans to build a new KFC restaurant at 1780 S. Atherton St. in State College.

Join Onward State: Fall 2018 Application

Onward State is hiring for the fall semester and we’d love to have you join us.

While You Were Gone…

Here’s a roundup of what went on around Penn State during summer break.

Be the first to know

  • Top posts and the best Penn State stories

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

What Changed In State College While You Were Away

With another summer in the books, here are all the changes to State College that happened while you were gone.

Send this to a friend