Penn State news by
Penn State's student blog



Mitchell Tinsley, Parker Washington Named To 2022 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Penn State wide receivers Mitchell Tinsley and Parker Washington were named to the Biletnikoff Award’s preseason watch list by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation Thursday morning.

The Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football’s most outstanding pass catcher, as selected by a group of media personnel and former receivers. Though the award traditionally goes to wide receivers, any player who catches passes is eligible for the honor.

Penn State is one of just three college football programs boasting two nominees to the award’s watch list, joining Virginia and Texas.

After transferring to Happy Valley from Western Kentucky, Mitchell Tinsley has already established himself as a source of excitement for the Nittany Lions. Taking over the No. 5 jersey from rookie Washington Commander Jahan Dotson has only intensified the high expectations.

At Western Kentucky, Tinsley was an instrumental piece of quarterback Bailey Zappe’s historic 61-touchdown season in 2021. Tinsley accumulated 1,402 yards and 14 touchdowns on 87 catches.

After some of his early spring ball practices, Penn State’s coaching staff raved about Tinsley’s performances.

“I don’t think there’s gonna be a moment where he’s wide-eyed,” Yurcich said in March. “He’s gonna be anticipating tough competition, and [he’ll] thrive in that type of setting.”

Fellow receiver Parker Washington experienced a breakthrough season last year, firmly establishing himself as a contributor for the future. In 2021, Washington compiled 64 catches for 820 yards and five touchdowns – all second-highest marks on the team for the year.

Washington already possesses the program’s 18th-most career receptions (100) and 22nd-most career receiving yards (1,310) as a sophomore. Past production and preexisting chemistry with returning starting quarterback Sean Clifford should set the stage for another consequential year for the Nittany Lion.

Tinsley or Washington would become the second-ever Nittany Lion to win the award. Receiver Bobby Engram won the inaugural edition of the award in 1994.

Your ad blocker is on.

Please choose an option below.

Sign up for our e-mail newsletter:
Support quality journalism:
Purchase a Subscription!

About the Author

Sam Fremin

Sam is a senior from Ashburn, Virginia, majoring in journalism and political science & minoring in German and creative writing. He is a Dallas Cowboys fan who relishes the misery of Eagles fans. All hate messages can be sent to [email protected] or @SamFremin on Twitter.

He may or may not read every single comment he gets.

[Photo Story] Penn State Basketball Returns To Rec Hall

Our photographers were on hand to capture the sights of Penn State basketball’s return to Rec Hall.

A Cathedral Is Useless If You Never Hold Mass: Penn State Basketball Should Permanently Return To Rec Hall

Rec Hall is an intimidating place to play basketball and the Bryce Jordan Center simply is not. Why not make the switch?

‘My Biggest Inspiration’: Hana Romanik Supporting Mother’s Cancer Research Work From THON 2024

“I’ve just been super interested ever since that first year trying to grow my personal THON story, get more connections to it, help as many people as I can, and be that person [my mom] is for other people.”

Follow on Another Platform